Fusion Bionic Announced as Ray of Hope Prize Runner-up 2022

The Biomimicry Institute awards Fusion Bionic with Runner-up recognition in 2022 Ray of Hope Prize®. This identifies Fusion Bionic as one of the top nature-inspired startups in the world accompanied by a $25,000 equity-free prize and further media support to foster their growth.

Figure 1: The team of Fusion Bionic is recognized with the Runner-up Ray of Hope Prize 2022. © Fusion Bionic

Fusion Bionic, a spin-off of the Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology IWS, develops and markets systems to produce bio-inspired surfaces using patented laser microtexturing technologies. The German startup improves the product performance in various industries using laser-generated surface textures inspired by natural blueprints such as the Lotus leaf and Moth-eye. All these surface textures replace ecologically harmful processes, such as chemical de-icing, sandblasting, or etching, while meeting the demand of increased product performance via industrial-scale surface finishing. 

“Nature has already optimized functional surface textures over millions of years of evolution, and Fusion Bionic's cutting-edge laser technologies now enable us to replicate these textures at scale. We are proud to support Fusion Bionic!" says Jared Yarnall-Schane, Director of Innovation at the Biomimicry Institute. 

Tim Kunze, CEO of Fusion Bionic, emphasizes the importance of the Ray of Hope Prize:  

“The Ray of Hope Prize recognition is more than just an award for us as a team, it is one of the highest honors we can receive for our vision towards more sustainability in production processes using biomimicry. Learning from nature is more than just copying things that have evolved over millions of years. We use our highly advanced laser technology to harness effects from nature for human use. We are convinced that this concentrated innovative power as a synergy between human technology and nature's example will make numerous technical innovations possible in the future.” 

Fusion Bionic, founded in 2021, has already gained significant market traction through Proof-Of-Concept services and product deployment. Initially founded by four ambitious entrepreneurs, the team has grown to seven people within the last months. Since its foundation, a total amount of nearly 3.8 Mio. € has been acquired by funding, pre-seed investment, and revenue, which enables the team of Fusion Bionic to further green manufacturing across industries using biomimicry. 

“The Ray of Hope Prize encourages us to pursue this path even more intensively. Thanks to the Biomimicry Institute, as well as the Ray C. Anderson Foundation, for giving visibility to the extremely important work of nature-inspired startups,” adds Kunze. 

For more information about the Biomimicry Institute and Ray of Hope Prize, visit biomimicry.org. biomimicry.org. Discover Fusion Bionic's solution and contact the team at fusionbionic.com.

About Fusion Bionic

Fusion Bionic is transferring bio-inspired principles such as the Lotus leaf or the Moth eye effect to technical surfaces by a high-speed laser process. The application of biomimetic functions can lead to a significant increase of the individual surface performance to enable the next generation of products. The solutions offered by Fusion Bionic are based on the high-speed laser technology Direct Laser Interference Patterning (DLIP) which is up to 100 times faster than established processes. The high-speed functionalization using DLIP paves the way for high-performance surfaces with self-cleaning properties, reduced friction in tribological systems, improved contacting of connectors, enhanced biocompatibility of implants and more.

About the Biomimicry Institute

The Biomimicry Institute is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization founded in 2006 that empowers people to create nature-inspired solutions for a healthy planet. To advance the solution process, the Institute offers AskNature.org, a free online tool that contains thousands of strategies found in nature and examples of ways they are used in design. It also hosts a Youth Design Challenge to support project-based education for middle and high school students; a Biomimicry Launchpad to catalyze more bio-inspired technologies; and the Ray of Hope Prize® for early-stage biomimetic companies to bring solutions to market. The Institute also supports an initiative called Design for Decomposition, which will pilot technologies that convert discarded clothes and textiles into biocompatible raw materials.

en_US
fusion bionic corerultra series menu

COREultra – Coming soon

More

Fusion Bionic GmbH
Dr. Tim Kunze, CEO
Löbtauer Straße 69
01159 Dresden

+49 (0) 351 160 979 89
contact@fusionbionic.com

Fusion Bionic GmbH
Dr. Tim Kunze, CEO
Löbtauer Straße 69
01159 Dresden

+49 (0) 351 160 979 89
contact@fusionbionic.com

Fusion Bionic erhält den zweiten Platz beim Ray-of-Hope-Preis 2022

Das Biomimicry Institute würdigt Fusion Bionic mit dem zweiten Platz des Ray of Hope Prize® 2022. Damit wird Fusion Bionic als eines der besten von der Natur inspirierten Start-ups der Welt ausgezeichnet und erhält einen Preis in Höhe von 25.000 $ sowie weitere mediale Unterstützung, um das Wachstum des Unternehmens zu fördern.

Abbildung 1: Das Team von Fusion Bionic wird mit dem zweiten Platz des Ray of Hope-Preises 2022 ausgezeichnet. Foto: © Fusion Bionic

Fusion Bionic, eine Ausgründung des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS, entwickelt und vermarktet Systeme zur Herstellung von bioinspirierten Oberflächen mit Hilfe patentierter Lasermikrotexturierungstechnologien. Das deutsche Startup verbessert die Produktleistung in verschiedenen Branchen durch lasergenerierte Oberflächentexturen, die von natürlichen Vorbildern wie dem Lotusblatt und dem Mottenauge inspiriert sind. All diese Oberflächentexturen ersetzen umweltschädliche Verfahren wie chemische Enteisung, Sandstrahlen oder Ätzen und erfüllen gleichzeitig die Forderung nach einer verbesserten Produktleistung durch Oberflächenveredelung im industriellen Maßstab. 

„Die Natur hat bereits über Millionen von Jahren der Evolution funktionale Oberflächentexturen optimiert, und die hochmodernen Lasertechnologien von Fusion Bionic ermöglichen es uns nun, diese Texturen in großem Maßstab zu replizieren. Wir sind stolz darauf, Fusion Bionic zu unterstützen“, sagt Jared Yarnall-Schane, Direktor für Innovation am Biomimicry Institute. 

Tim Kunze, CEO von Fusion Bionic, unterstreicht die Bedeutung des Ray of Hope Prize:  

„Die Anerkennung durch den Ray of Hope Prize ist mehr als nur eine Auszeichnung für uns als Team, sie ist eine der höchsten Ehrungen, die wir für unsere Vision von mehr Nachhaltigkeit in Produktionsprozessen durch Biomimikry erhalten können. Von der Natur zu lernen ist mehr als nur das Kopieren von Dingen, die sich über Millionen von Jahren entwickelt haben. Wir nutzen unsere hochmoderne Lasertechnologie, um Effekte aus der Natur für den Menschen nutzbar zu machen. Wir sind überzeugt, dass diese geballte Innovationskraft als Synergie zwischen menschlicher Technologie und dem Vorbild der Natur in Zukunft zahlreiche technische Innovationen ermöglichen wird.“ 

Das 2021 gegründete Unternehmen Fusion Bionic hat durch Proof-Of-Concept-Dienste und Produkteinführungen bereits eine erhebliche Markttraktion erreicht. Ursprünglich von vier ambitionierten Unternehmern gegründet, ist das Team in den letzten Monaten auf sieben Personen angewachsen. Seit der Gründung wurden insgesamt fast 3,8 Mio. € durch Finanzierungen, Pre-Seed-Investitionen und Umsätze akquiriert, die es dem Team von Fusion Bionic ermöglichen, die grüne Produktion in verschiedenen Branchen durch Biomimikry voranzutreiben. 

„Der Ray of Hope Preis ermutigt uns, diesen Weg noch intensiver zu verfolgen. Wir danken dem Biomimicry Institute und der Ray C. Anderson Foundation dafür, dass sie die extrem wichtige Arbeit der von der Natur inspirierten Startups sichtbar machen“, so Kunze weiter. 

Weitere Informationen über das Biomimicry Institute und den Ray of Hope Prize finden Sie unter biomimicry.org. Entdecken Sie die Lösung von Fusion Bionic und kontaktieren Sie das Team unter fusionbionic.com.

Über Fusion Bionic

Fusion Bionic überträgt bioinspirierte Prinzipien wie das Lotusblatt oder den Mottenaugeneffekt mittels eines Hochgeschwindigkeitslaserverfahrens auf technische Oberflächen. Die Anwendung biomimetischer Funktionen kann zu einer signifikanten Steigerung der individuellen Oberflächenleistung führen, um die nächste Generation von Produkten zu ermöglichen. Die von Fusion Bionic angebotenen Lösungen basieren auf der Hochgeschwindigkeits-Lasertechnologie Direct Laser Interference Patterning (DLIP), die bis zu 100 Mal schneller ist als etablierte Verfahren. Die Hochgeschwindigkeitsfunktionalisierung mittels DLIP ebnet den Weg für Hochleistungsoberflächen mit selbstreinigenden Eigenschaften, verringerter Reibung in tribologischen Systemen, verbesserter Kontaktierung von Steckverbindungen, erhöhter Biokompatibilität von Implantaten und mehr.

Über das Biomimicry Institute

Das Biomimicry Institute ist eine 2006 gegründete gemeinnützige Organisation (501(c)(3)), die Menschen dazu befähigt, von der Natur inspirierte Lösungen für einen gesunden Planeten zu schaffen. Um den Lösungsprozess voranzutreiben, bietet das Institut AskNature.org an, ein kostenloses Online-Tool mit Tausenden von Strategien, die in der Natur zu finden sind, und Beispielen, wie sie im Design eingesetzt werden. Darüber hinaus veranstaltet das Institut eine Youth Design Challenge, um die projektbasierte Ausbildung von Schülern der Mittel- und Oberstufe zu unterstützen, ein Biomimicry Launchpad, um mehr biologisch inspirierte Technologien zu fördern, und den Ray of Hope Prize® für biomimetische Unternehmen in der Frühphase, die Lösungen auf den Markt bringen. Das Institut unterstützt auch eine Initiative mit dem Namen Design for Decomposition, in deren Rahmen Technologien erprobt werden sollen, die ausrangierte Kleidung und Textilien in biokompatible Rohstoffe umwandeln.

de_DE
fusion bionic corerultra series menu

COREultra – Coming soon

Mehr

Fusion Bionic GmbH
Dr. Tim Kunze, CEO
Löbtauer Straße 69
01159 Dresden

+49 (0) 351 160 979 89
contact@fusionbionic.com

Fusion Bionic GmbH
Dr. Tim Kunze, CEO
Löbtauer Straße 69
01159 Dresden

+49 (0) 351 160 979 89
contact@fusionbionic.com